Nobles Ads width=

Nobles Ads width=

Seven Countries Where Twitter Is Either Banned Or Suspended

Guest · 1 · 186


  • Guest
The Federal Government has suspended the operation of Twitter in Nigeria. The announcement was made by the Minister for Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, in Abuja on Friday. 

The Federal Government cited the persistent use of the platform for activities that are capable of undermining Nigeria's corporate existence as the reason for its suspension.

A few days ago, the platform deleted President Muhammad Buhari's tweet for violating the rules and regulations of the platform.

The federal government faulted the decision, saying that Twitter activities in the country are suspicious. The government also said the platform refused to delete Nnamdi Kanu's tweets promoting violence and insurrection in the country. Twitter also donated to the ENDSARS protest that led to the destruction of lives and properties in Nigeria.

However, Nigeria is not the first country to suspend Twitter. Many other countries have either banned or suspended the platform in the past.

1. China

Twitter is officially banned in China. However, some Chinese officials and diplomats are now using the platform as a means of communication. Even major Chinese companies and national media, such as Huawei and CCTV, use Twitter through a government approved VPN. In 2020, hundreds of Chinese were sentenced to prison due to their tweeting, retweeting and liking on Twitter.

2. Egypt

Twitter and Facebook were temporarily blocked in Egypt in 2011 due to the revolution that happened in the country. Many citizens bypassed the suspension by using VPN. The service was restored weeks after the uprising in Egypt.

3. Iran

Twitter has been blocked in Iran since 2009 due to the protest that occurred after the presidential election. The block was lifted in 2013 due to some technical issues. However, the site was blocked again after a few days.

4. North Korea

Twitter was blocked in North Korea in 2016 to control the spread of online information. There is a punishment for citizens and visitors who use the site without permission.

5. Turkey

Twitter was temporarily blocked in 2014 after a court order was issued. It was later restored two weeks later after citizens protested against the government.

6. Turkmenistan

In 2018, Turkmenistan banned foreign websites, including Twitter.

7. Nigeria 

Nigeria suspended Twitter in June 2021 after the platform deleted President Muhammad Buhari's tweet for violating publishing guidelines.



Nobles Ads width=

SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2021, SimplePortal